Less is More

A couple of quick sketches from Tuesday’s life class. I find these much more fun and dynamic than laboured drawings taking hours to produce. I have to think fast, work fast and extract the essentials from the subject without worrying about the fine details.

I’m always driven by the play of light and try to capture it as simply as possible. Look for strong contrasts, hard and soft textures, lost and found edges and so-called negative drawing, i.e. defining the shape by using dark tones around it, rather than using an outline.

Maximum impact with minimum effort!

2016-05-10A_Hornblower_charcoal_sketch2016-05-10B_Hornblower_charcoal_sketch

2 thoughts on “Less is More

  1. Hi Keith,
    I have only recently come across your blog but as a reasonably experienced watercolourist myself I not only find your work very inspiring but also find your tales of frustration and failure immensely encouraging (I hope that doesn’t sound perverse!).It’s all too easy to assume that well-known and published artists don’t have to undergo the struggles inherent in this medium and I think your comments are really refreshing. Keep it up!
    Regards.
    Brendan

    Like

    1. Thank you Brendan. Struggle and failure are not only inevitable, but they’re also essential for progression. My favourite quote (and I don’t even know who said it!):
      “If we always do what we always did, we’ll always get what we always got”.
      All the best,
      Keith

      Like

Leave a Reply

