Figure Drawing

2016-11-22_1_hornblower_charcoal

It’s a record: 2 blog entries in 2 days! Figure drawing class this morning, run by Jo Stone, so Tuesday mornings I’m the student for a change, although I do my own thing pretty much.

I tend to use charcoal most of the time, so I can use the whole tonal range from black to white, and as you should know by now, tone is my thing! I’m thinking about the light more than line or anything else, and Jo is very good at positioning a lamp for maximum dramatic effect.

No long poses – most are 5 minutes, sometimes 10, although one of these was a lengthy 20 minute pose which I had actually finished in about 15 minutes. See if you can guess which one..

I don’t do these for any other reason than enjoyment and relaxation. There’s no pressure to succeed or achieve anything in particular and it makes such a change from painting (illustrating) buildings. I can just lose myself in all those beautiful curves.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

